top of page

Micro Theatre Winners 2017

Micro Theatre is done and dusted for 2017, and we celebrated with a very relaxed awards ceremony in the Pool Room at Customs house. A big thank you to everyone who came along to help us celebrate and to those who were involved in the festival this year.

Zac Smith, winner of Best Direction

When combining Port of Newcastle sponsorship with other anonymous support Micro Theatre has awarded $5,000 in price money this year, which makes Micro Theatre the richest theatre prize in the Hunter region.

This season each of the judges read the submitted scripts, as well as seeing the plays performed in the venues. This way we have been able to present awards specifically for writing and directing this year.

So, the results from Micro Theatre this year are:-

People’s Choice Awards – audience members at each of the venues voted for:-

Vinyl Café – Space Commander versus the Mud Monsters

Curve Gallery – Do Not Touch

The Press Bookhouse – Grass

Studio21 Artspace – The Waters Edge

Sally Davies, winner of Best New Script

Awards for Script Writing – New Scripts

* Best New Script – Sally Davies for The Interview

Highly Commended – Kylie Farrugia and Tracey Dwyer for Elementary

Highly Commended - Frank Leggett for Space Commander versus the Mud Monsters

Awards for Script writing – Previously Performed Scripts

* Best Previously Performed Script – Michael Lill for The Water’s Edge

Award for Direction

* Best Direction – Zac Smith for Space Commander versus the Mud Monsters

Highly commended – Nola Wallace for

Awards for Acting

* Best Actor Award – Trent Baines in Grass

Highly commended – Alastair Anderberg in Space Commander versus the Mud Monsters.

Highly Commended – Nicholas Thoroughgood in Space Commander versus the Mud Monsters

Highly commended Lucy Scott in Elementary

Highly commended Lissy Shand in Do Not Touch

Tracey Dwyer and Kylie Farrugia

Festival Award

Danielle Asquith – Danielle was writer, director, actor, waitress, venue manager and star - she was awesome.

Emily Daly – Directing learning and performing a monologue in 24 hours is no mean feat!

Lee-Anne Baxter – Tickets, comps, badges, peoples choice, Lee-Anne had it all sorted!

We have also been awarding the 'Badge of Honour' to all of our audience members who attended all four venues. The badge being one of our Micro Theatre badges that were on sale in the venues. If you did see all four and would like one, send us an email!

Audience feedback has been very enthusiastic, many commenting on how they like the wide variety of subjects and styles of play this year, which was great to hear. So once again, thank you to everyone – now for a nice sleep!

Megan, Kate and Mardi celebrating another successful year of Micro Theatre!

Megan, Kate and Mardi celebrating another successful year of Micro Theatre.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page